Computer Science Canada | Informatique Canada (CS-Can|Info-Can) announces 2022 Award Winners

Celebrating outstanding achievements and lasting contributions of Canadian computer scientists

The CS-CAN|INFO-CAN awards acknowledge exemplary contributions to computer science research, education, community and professional service, and the significant accomplishments of computer scientists.

The process to review and determine the award recipients is rigorous. Nominations are brought forward to Awards Committees, a panel of computer scientists from different disciplines across the country who, after careful consideration of each nomination, select the recipients.

Congratulations to the following CS-Can|Info-Can Award recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award

These awards recognize current or former faculty members in Canadian Computer Science Departments, Schools, Faculties who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to computing over their careers. The awards can be for achievement in research, teaching, service, or any combination of these.

Sheelagh Carpendale

Computing Science Professor

Simon Fraser University

Robin Cohen

Computing Science Professor

University of Waterloo

Russell Greiner

Computing Science Professor

University of Alberta

Guy Lapalme

Computing Science Professor

Université de Montréal

Alan Mackworth

Professor Emeritus at

University of British Columbia

Excellence in Teaching Award

Recognizes faculty who have demonstrated exceptional teaching ability, at the undergraduate or graduate level, via classroom lectures, laboratory instruction, thesis supervision, design and development of courses, and use of innovative teaching methods.

Elisa Baniassad

Associate Professor

University of British Columbia

Bowen Hui

Associate Professor

University of British Columbia

Daniel Zingaro

Associate Professor,

University of Toronto

Canadian Computer Science Distinguished Dissertation Award

Computer science doctoral students completing degrees at Canadian institutions and recognize excellence in research and writing in a doctoral dissertation.

Yasha Pushak

University of British Columbia

Outstanding Early Career Computer Science Researcher Award

Recognizes top early-career computer science academic researchers who are within 10 years of completing their Ph.D. for excellence in research.

Parmit Chilana

Associate Professor at

Simon Fraser University 

Alec Jacobson

Associate Professor Computer Science and Mathematics

University of Toronto

Julia Rubin

Associate Professor at

University of British Columbia

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes outstanding service to CS-Can|Info-Can and the Canadian computer science community at large (selected by the CS-Can|Info-Can Board of Directors).

Jörg-Rüdiger Sack

Professor Department of Computer Science

Carleton University

“Canada’s success on the global stage depends entirely on our accelerated adoption of technology across all sectors,” said Dr. Marc Frappier, President CS-CAN|INFO-CAN “As a nation we have a history of award-winning thought leaders, innovators and founders of some of the most globally disruptive technologies. On behalf of CS-CAN|INFO-CAN, its Board of Directors and its members, I offer my sincere congratulations to all this year’s winners and finalists. We salute the leadership, ingenuity and passion of these individuals who help change and improve the lives, communities and businesses in Canada and often globally for the better.”

The CS-CAN|INFO-CAN award winners will be celebrated during the first CS-CAN|INFO-CAN Co-Located Conference on June 7, 2023, in Montreal. This year, the awards gala will feature not one, but two award shows – CS-CAN|INFO-CAN and the Canadian Image Processing and Pattern Recognition Society (CIPPRS).


CS-CAN-INFO-CAN counts among its members more than 60 organizations active in computing research: academic departments of computer science and computer engineering; academia; and affiliated professional societies. CS-CAN-INFO-CAN works with these organizations to represent the computing research community and to effect change that benefits both computing research and society at large.

Skip to content