Awards Committees

CS-Can|Info-Can relies on the volunteers that serve on its committees, as well as its professional staff, to carry out its program.

The following committees oversee the CSCAN-INFOCAN award programs:

Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the field of computer science over their careers. These awards recognize career excellence in research, teaching, service, or any combination of these.

2023-2024 Selection Committee
Chair: Kelly Lyons (Toronto)

Outstanding Early Career Computer Science Researcher Awards

This award recognizes top early-career computer science academic researchers who are within 10 years of completing their Ph.D. and recognize excellence in research 

2023-2024 Selection Committee
Chair: Kelly Lyons (Toronto)

Canadian Computer Science Distinguished Dissertation Award

This award recognizes computer science doctoral students completing degrees at Canadian institutions and recognizes excellence in research and writing in a doctoral dissertation.

2023-2024 Selection Committee
Chair: Kate Larson (University of Waterloo)

Excellence in Teaching Award

This award recognizes computer science faculty at Canadian institutions who have been nominated by students, colleagues, and alumni in recognition of excellence in teaching. They honour faculty who have demonstrated exceptional teaching ability, at the undergraduate or graduate level, via classroom lectures, laboratory instruction, thesis supervision, design and development of courses, and use of innovative teaching methods.

2023-2024 Selection Committee
Chair: Jacqueline Smith, (University of Toronto);
Marc Feeley, (University of Montreal)

Distinguished Service Award 

This award recognizes outstanding service to CS-Can|Info-Can and the Canadian computer science community at large.

It is selected by the CS-Can|Info-Can Board of Directors.

Scroll to Top
Skip to content