Consider nominating a faculty member for the CACS/AIC Award for Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science

Consider nominating a faculty member for the CACS/AIC Award for Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science . Please note that the deadline for nominations is December 1, 2015.

Call for Nominations Award for Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science 2015

Sponsored by Canadian Association for Computer Science/Association informatique canadienne Nomination Deadline: December 1, 2015


The award for Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science is made to faculty members in Canadian Computer Science Departments/Schools/Faculties who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to computing over their careers. The awards can be for achievement in research, teaching, service, or any combination of these. Since this award is long overdue, there will be up to five awards per year for the first few years. Winners will be invited to attend the annual Awards Banquet to receive their awards.


A candidate for this award must have held a full time appointment in a Computer Science Department1 at a Canadian University for at least 10 years and must have spent the majority of their academic career in Canada. Candidates need not be currently active faculty members, nor even still living.

Selection Committee

The selection committee is a Panel of computer scientists from a variety of subdisciplines of the field, so all nomination material should be written appropriately for such an audience. This panel is appointed by CACS/AIC.

Nomination Procedures

Candidates cannot apply on their own behalf, but must be nominated by a member of the Canadian computer science academic community who has first hand knowledge of the nominee’s contributions. All submissions should be packaged into a single PDF file.

 “Computer Science Department” is a broad term that includes Canadian Departments, Schools, and Faculties of Computer Science, however named; that is, the academic units that are members of CACS/AIC. Similarly, the term “Chair” refers to the Chair or Head of the Department, the Director of the School, or the Dean of the Faculty of Computer Science, whichever is appropriate.

The Nomination Package

The nomination package should include the following:

  • a summary (up to 1 page) for public consumption outlining the candidate’s contributions in everyday language.
  • a nomination statement (up to 3 pages) that explains why the candidate deserves consideration for the award. This nomination statement should make the case for the nomination, indicating the category or categories in which the candidate has made their contribution and explaining the nature of the contributions they have made.
  • curriculum vitae (no page limit) of the candidate, focussed on the candidate’s contributions in the category or categories for which they are being nominated.
  • 3-5 letters of support for the candidate from other people who have first hand knowledge of the candidate’s contributions in the appropriate category or categories. Such letters can be written by colleagues in the same Department or other Departments in Canada or outside of Canada, or by other people who can appraise the contributions, for example former students for a teaching contribution, or somebody in the computing industry for a research contribution who knows the impact of a candidate’s research.
  • other supporting material, up to a limit of 5 pages, that will contribute to an understanding of the candidate’s contributions.

No other material (letters of support, etc.) can be included in the nomination package.


Successful candidates will be notified by February 1, 2016. The awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held in conjunction with the annual Computer Science Chairs meeting in 2016, usually held in late May. Successful candidates will be provided with funds to help defray the costs to attend this ceremony in order to receive the award in person.

How to Submit

The nomination should be put into a single PDF file, which should be e-mailed as an attachment to the CACS/AIC Awards Panel, c/o Gord McCalla, at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *