Author Archives: carey

NSERC Results

NSERC has released the most recent competition results from Evaluation Group (EG) 1507 for Computer Science.

The following slides were presented by the NSERC representatives at the May 2017 meeting in Edmonton:
NSERC-EG1507-Report -May2017

One particular highlight is the number of Discovery Accelerator Supplements (DAS) awards received by Computer Science researchers this year.

Election Results

The results from the CS-Can/Info-Can election are complete.

CS-Can/Info-Can congratulates the following individuals, who will
officially commence their duties July 1, 2017.

The new President of CS-Can/Info-Can is Doina Precup (McGill University).

The members elected to the Board of Directors are:

  • Kellogg Booth (University of British Columbia)
  • Yvonne Coady (University of Victoria)
  • Eugene Fiume (University of Toronto / Simon Fraser University)
  • Ali Ghorbani (University of New Brunswick)
  • Kate Larson (University of Waterloo)
  • Stan Matwin (Dalhousie University)
  • Tamer Ozsu (University of Waterloo)
  • Julita Vassileva (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Carey Williamson (University of Calgary)

Election Time!

The CS-Can/Info-Can election for the Board of Directors is underway! Information on the nominees for each position are available online (English version and French version).

If you are on the voters list of CS-Can/Info-Can members, you should have received an email with voting instructions from near the end of May. You can cast your electronic ballot anytime between May 31 and June 9.



Award Winners 2016

CS-Can/Info-Can is pleased to announce their 2016 award recipients, who were all recognized at an awards banquet at the University of Alberta on May 15, 2017.

The recipients of the 2016 Award for Lifetime Achievement in Computer Science were:

  • Gregor von Bochmann (University of Ottawa)
  • Gilles Brassard (Université de Montréal)
  • Janusz (John) Brzozowski (University of Waterloo)
  • Hector Levesque (University of Toronto)
  • Ian Munro (University of Waterloo)
  • John Mylopoulos (University of Toronto)

These awards recognize current or former faculty members in Canadian Computer Science Departments/Schools/Faculties who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to computing over their careers. The awards can be for achievement in research, teaching, service, or any combination of these.

Here is a photo of these distinguished individuals at the banquet on May 15, 2017:


From left to right are Ian Munro, John Mylopoulos, John Brzozowski, Gregor Bochmann, Gilles Brassard, and Hector Levesque. (Photo credit: Julien Chiasson)

The recipients of the 2016 Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Prizes were:

  • Nick Harvey (University of British Columbia)
  • Abram Hindle (University of Alberta)
  • Lap Chi Lau (University of Waterloo)

These prizes recognize excellence in research, and are made to top young faculty members in Canadian Computer Science Departments/Schools/Faculties who are within the first 10 years of their career beyond the completion of their PhD.

Here is a photo of two of the award winners at the May 15 awards banquet:


From left to right are Nick Harvey and Abram Hindle. Lap Chi Lau was unable to attend the event. (Photo credit: Mario Nascimento)

Chairs Committee meeting

The University of Alberta was the host for this year's national meeting of Canadian computer science department chairs. The meeting took place on  May 16, 2017.

The Chairs Committee is one of the standing committees within the newly-formed CS-Can/Info-Can organization. The general mandate of this committee is to manage the academic discipline of computer science within Canada, including education and research at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Here are the key events that took place at the CS-Can/Info-Can meeting in Edmonton:

  • CS-Can/Info-Can Awards Banquet:  This invitation-only dinner was for awardees, their guests, department chairs, NSERC, and CS-Can/Info-Can board members. The banquet started at 6:00pm on Monday May 15 at the U of A Faculty Club.
  • Chairs Meeting: This meeting ran all day (9:00am to 5:00pm) on Tuesday May 16 in the U of A's CS department. This was the agenda for the meeting.
  • NSERC Presentation: This information session discussed the current status of NSERC Discovery Grants and related funding programs from a CS perspective. This event was open to the CS research community, including participants from the AI/GI/CRV conference which was co-located at the U of A. The session took place Tuesday May 16 (5:00pm to 6:00pm) in Lister Hall at the U of A.
  • CS-Can/Info-Can Working Groups: The Research Committee and other CS-Can/Info-Can working groups met on Wednesday May 17 (9:00am to 5:00pm). These meetings took place in the CS department at the U of A. Interested parties were welcome to attend.



CUCSC 2017

The third annual Canadian Undergraduate Computer Science Conference (CUCSC) will be taking place at the University of Toronto (Bahen Centre for IT) on June 15-17, 2017.

Here is the CUCSC-2017-Poster advertising the conference. For more information about the conference, or to register, please see the CUCSC Web site.